CARE History


It all began when Anne Webb was asked to visit and pray with an AIDS patient at the Communicable Disease Centre (CDC). The bed-ridden patient was partially blind and wanted somebody to pray with him. In those days, and to some extent even now, PLWHAs were shunned by an ignorant and AIDS-phobic public. Her daughter Jackie Webb, later took over her role when she was unable to carry on her prayer ministry.

Jackie went on to form CARE in 1991. Click here to read Jackie Webb’s account of our beginnings in her letter to past President Michael Png, written circa 2004.

We were inaugurated as a lay apostolate ministry of the Catholic Church on 6 June 1992 with the approval of His Grace, Archbishop Emeritus Gregory Yong.

For a picture of what we were doing 10 years later, click here to read the historic description taken from the first CARE Website, circa 2003.

In the first ten years we did ward work. However this had to cease with the onset of SARS in 2003. From then on, we switched our efforts to caring for the homeless and the destitute who were not hospitalised. After a number of temporary locations, we established the first CARE Shelter at 11 Hillside Drive, the former premises of St Joseph’s Convent, in 2005. We moved to our present premises, with the kind permission of the Good Shepherd Sisters, in 2006. We shall have to move again by 31 Dec 2013, as the land is being acquired for a public purpose. We will be relocating to the northern part of the island.

In 2008, we initiated our Non-Resident Support Programme, targeting at PLWHA women (and their children). In the same year, we started our Schools Outreach programme, targeting Catholic secondary schools.

Following a strategic review held in 2009, we initiated a Befrienders Programme in 2010. This was aimed at providing a structured framework within which Volunteers may befriend and help our resident and non-resident PLWHAs, and eventually those in our Follow Up programme. We also adopted Advocacy as a major thrust of our work, to help create better understanding, compassion and acceptance of PLWHAs, by families, employers and society.

We were registered as a society in 2004 and a charity in 2006. On 1 November 2010, we were granted IPC status.


1990 Anne Webb began doing ward visits at the Communicable Disease Centre
1991 Jackie Webb formed CARE
Based at Novena Church
1992 CARE officially inaugurated as a lay ministry by Archbishop Emeritus Gregory Yong.
Archdiocesan Financial Commission began supporting.
1997 St Vincent de Paul Church made available temporary shelter at Seletar Hills
2003 Ward work ceased due to SARS
Temporary shelter moved from Seletar Hills to a flat at Hougang
2004 Shelter and Base of Operations shifted to 11 Hillside Drive.
CARE was registered as a Society
CARE website was launched
Joyce Fernandez employed as Administrator
Sr Lucia served as Nursing Supervisor
2005 Shelter and base of operations moved to existing premises at Marymount
Rollins employed as Manager
Catholic Welfare Services took over financial support
2006 CARE was registered as Charity
2007 Geraldine Subramanian recruited as Administrator
Caritas took over financial support
2008 Non-Residential Support and School Outreach Programmes launched
Joseph Tham recruited as Executive Officer
2009 Strategic Review
1. Mission enlarged to include journeying with PLWHAs, linking residential, non-residential and post-residential work
2. Greater depth of caring
3. Advocacy adopted as a major thrust
4. Volunteers the key to growth and effectiveness
2010 Launch of Advocacy as major activity
Launch of Befriending programme
CARE was granted IPC Status wef 1 Nov 10 for 2 years
Immanuel Lin recruited as Executive wef 26 April 2010

2011 CARE’s application for Membership of National Council of Social Service approved
Michael Charles Loh appointed as Executive Director wef 1 May 2011
Florence Seah recruited as Programme Manager wef 1 July 2011

Those Who Led and Inspired us

  As Leader-Coordinator
As President
2004 and after
Spiritual Director
(Rev Father)
1991-2 Jackie Webb Eugene Chong
1993-4 Jackie Webb Glenn De Cruz
1995-6 Molly Wijesinghe Glenn De Cruz
1997 Molly Wijesinghe Glenn De Cruz
Clifford Augustine
1998 Molly Wijesinghe Clifford Augustine
1999 NA Clifford Augustine
Tom Curran
2000 Peter Lau Tom Curran
2001-3 Anne Chiang Tom Curran
2004 Anne Chiang
Michael A Png
Adrian Anthony
2005 Michael A Png
Jacinta Rajoo
Adrian Anthony
2006 Jacinta Rajoo Adrian Anthony
2007-11 Michael A Png Adrian Anthony

Comments are closed.